mtbr member
    Aug 2006

Need some advice

I am in the market for a 29er full suspension and had my mind set on a trek superfly 100 elite. My question is when buying a trek are you paying a lot for the name? I am not asking this just to have a bunch of you bash trek I am just looking for some guidance to help me make the right purchase. I was at a local bike shop yesterday and the guy was talking about the GT bikes and told me they were pretty sick. I have 3k to spend would love to spend less but that is my cap and I am also new to the sport so I don't need top of the line stuff. Thanks

mtbr member
    Here are some reviews.
    Trek Superfly 100 29er Full Suspension Reviews

Have you ridden it? That is the biggest thing. Ride a few and see what you like best. The trek is a fine bike. It has super decent parts. I don't think that is a bad bike at all. I think trek bikes look super cool the last couple years. I personally would get the trek over a GT but it is all personal preference. But for 3g's you have a lot of options so make sure you get a bike that fits your needs.

mtbr member
    Aug 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by jrogs View Post
    Here are some reviews.
    Trek Superfly 100 29er Full Suspension Reviews

Have you ridden it? That is the biggest thing. Ride a few and see what you like best. The trek is a fine bike. It has super decent parts. I don't think that is a bad bike at all. I think trek bikes look super cool the last couple years. I personally would get the trek over a GT but it is all personal preference. But for 3g's you have a lot of options so make sure you get a bike that fits your needs.
    Thanks for the help I will check out the link

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    What the guy above me said. Ride the bike to see how it feels, that's probably the most important aspect other than budget.

But 3k should buy a pretty sweet bike.