Need new fork - budget <$300- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2005

Need new fork - budget <$300

Starting to ride with some more hardcore riders and plan to all summer, and my current fork is pretty terrible. I currently have a Dart 1 on my bike, and it's way too pogo'ish. I have very little experience riding, so I haven't tried many different setups, so I'm not sure what to look for, or what the differences are from one to another. I've read a bit on here, but find myself just as confused as before. What should I be looking for in a good fork, and what are some good options out there for <$300? Thanks!

T.W.O
    What bike do you have? You don't want to get a fork that has an excessive amount of travel or more than your bike is designed around.

Let's say you have a bike that has a 100mm travel fork on it, you do not want to get a bike that has 160mm of travel. You want to get it as close to 100mm as you can, if you don't it could mess up that handling and geometry on your bike.

Just going off what fork your coming from, I'd say this wouldn't be a bad option.

http://www.jensonusa.com/store/produ...n+Fork+11.aspx

You can also check out your local craigslist to see if you can find a used fox fork, or something higher end.
    ------__o
    ----_`\<,_
    ---(_)/ (_)

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    I've been in the same boat, replacing my sr suntour xcr. There are some decent deals on the new Manitou minute experts around. I've heard the EPICON is a good entry 'budget' fork, but won't nessecarily last the longest.

I finially ordered a minute myself. There are some good threads with more info and ideas in the suspension section.

mtbr member
    I picked up a new Pike off Ebay for that recently.

mtbr member
    May 2005
    I have a Forge Sawback 5xx. How can I tell what the travel is on the bike? I'm guessing 100mm, but I could be looking at the wrong thing. Thanks for your help!

mtbr member
    Oct 2010