need a little help- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2011

need a little help

Ok so this is the first post. I did some searching and didn't find what i was looking for.

What I did find are some awesome single speed bikes.

Here is where I need help. I have a mountain bike. Its a mid 90s 26" Schwinn (frontier I believe)
    the gears are garbage at this point.
    I was wondering how difficult it would be to convert to a single speed.

A little history I have never built a bicycle before.

so be gentle.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    I think is not too difficult you only need the single speed adaptor. Just like this

refit your chain to your crank and your ss is ready to go..

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    I wouldn't have to change anything on the crank? just remover the gear changing mechanism? and set the chain one the gear that i would want?
    It sounds almost too easy this might be done before all the snow is gone.

mtbr member
    You got options here... Converting to a single speed (SS) can be very easy indeed. The only thing to be aware of is chain tension. The moment you take the rear derailleur off you lose the chain tension device.

True SS bikes achieve chain tension through specific bottom brackets or through sliding drop outs. Well, your bike hasn't any of this, so you need a chain tensioner.

The next question is if you want to have your bike look like a SS or simply deactivate the shifting. Based on that you can go from simply not shifting (duh) to actually taking derailleurs and chain rings off as well as replacing the cassette with a single ring (as 0600... suggests).

Here is an intermediate solution:

Take off front derailleur and shifter. Take off rear shifter, cut the cable to the rear derailleur in a way that you do have a few inches left (at the derailleur). Use a clamp to tension that cable and keep the rear derailleur in your preferred gear.