Need help deciding on beginner bike...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2020

Need help deciding on beginner bike...

Hiya! My name is Katie & Iím new to the world of mountain biking. Iíve been doing a lot of research online about what kind of bike to purchase...From what I can gather, I should look for hydraulic disc brakes, derailer hanger, quick release, modular & bolted crank & chain assembly, threadless stem & headset, 1x drivetrain (apparently itís easier & less scary?), and hardtails over dual suspension...? But thatís only what google says! I want some opinions from people who have been in my shoes before & can point me in the right direction. The closest one I can find to these ďrequirementsĒ is the DRT 1.1 at REI, but I cannot find many reviews on this bike. IĎm really just looking for an ďinexpensiveĒ trail bike (being a newbie I want to make sure itís something I stick with before forking over $$$) that Iíll be able to make upgrades on as I get better. Iíd appreciate any help I can get about brands, what to look for, or even good places to purchase one. This is all so new to me! Iím short (5í4Ē) & while I have some muscle to me I donít weigh much so Iím thinking Iíll need a smaller/lighter bike..?

mtbr member
    Aug 2018
    Hi.. welcome always super to see new people interested in the sport...

the Co-op bike your looking at is about what one expects at this sort of price.. unfortunately for various entry bikes are not that easy to upgrade later on (straight steerer tubes , QR wheel mounts..etc.)

in my humble opinion the REI bike is the kinda bike you give it a go for a year and if you've enjoyed it you flog it on for whatever you can get and buy a new $2K~ bike...

HOWEVER.. I looked at REI's site and from what I say they have XS , M and L non of which are the right size for you XS 5' - 5'3" and medium 5'6" to 5'9"

a bike that doesn't fit is never a good deal as it won't be fun / safe ...