need help choosing a bike- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

need help choosing a bike

So i posted this in the 27.5 forum but maybe its better here..

So, a buddy of mine sent me down the rabbit hole of bicycles. Lol I'm looking into 27.5 bikes and fat bikes. I'm leaning more towards 27.5
    I've looked into several bikes and am maybe considering building one. Here is a list of the ones I've looked at..

Trek Roscoe 7, maybe Roscoe 8
    Diamondback Mason 2
    Jamis Komodo expert
    Specialized fuse comp
    And framed Marquette

The Marquette looks like you get the most bang for your buck but it doesn't have a dropper post, and on the alloy frame the routing for the dropper is outside the frame.

You can buy the (framed) Marquette carbon frame for 600. So that would be the platform for building my own. But I'm worried I'll have more into that than just buying the carbon version and adding a dropper post.

In all honesty I think any of these would be fine for me as I'm just getting into it, and they all seem to be decent bikes.

So I'm asking which of these bikes would you recommend? And how much would I have into the carbon one building it myself?

I have a local trek dealer and a local specialized dealer so that's a plus for those bikes. And the framed bikes there is one a couple hours away ,but I get near there every so often because I have family near there.

Sorry for the long winded post but the more I look into these the more unsure of which one I want. Lol

Thanks again for your help

jcd's best friend
    I've built my last 3 bikes and I shop around Pink Bike's Buy/Sell market for "new take off" components which saves me a lot of money. I have a difficult time buying used parts from other people because I don't know any of the hidden problems with the stuff. I actually built my Transition Scout with almost all "new take off" parts I found on Pink Bike. You will need to do a cost analysis to see if it's worth buying a carbon frame and building it up.