Need Advice! Used full suspension vs new front suspension- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2017

Need Advice! Used full suspension vs new front suspension

Hey All,
    I'm a noob and I need to buy my 12 year old a bike for a week long expedition he will be going on. A mountain biking camping trip. I need advice on whether I should buy him a new lower end front suspension bike like this Specialized Men's Pitch for $450:
    Specialized Men's Pitch 27.5 - www.hazardscyclesport.com

Or get him a used bike on Craigslist from early 2000s that has dual suspension for the same price? I'm a bit worried about buying a lemon since I have never owned a bike with shocks. How should I inspect to make sure seals are good or what have you? Is a newer cheaper bike better? Less riskier I suppose but dual shocks are much better right? Here are the used one's I'm considering. thank you!!!

Full Suspension Gary Fischer Y Frame Mountain Bike
    - $275

https://santabarbara.craigslist.org/...288643096.html

Full Suspension, Mt. Bike-Santa Cruz, Super Light, tall - $449

https://santabarbara.craigslist.org/...307679646.html

2003 Specialized Big Hit Comp - DH Mountain Bike - $460

https://santabarbara.craigslist.org/...249088119.html

mtbr member
    Aug 2014
    I wouldn't get an older fs bike. Things have changed so much since then..and you just don't know what you'll get. Not worth it. Your son doesn't need that much bike anyway. Get something like the pitch or look for a newer used hardtail in your $500 range..you'd get a better bike that way if you can find one. Check pinkbike, ebay... If you can give his size, me or maybe someone else here can help..and we'll chime in if we see something. Good luck.

mtbr member
    It depends on the trails your son will ride but the new Pitch should do fine.

The Specialized Big Hit is strictly a down hill bike and not designed for typical trail riding.