Need Advice- Mtbr.com

Thread: Need Advice

mtbr member
    Jun 2009

Need Advice

Hi
    I am only new to the sport. About 6 weeks ago, myself, my two sons, daughter, and a few friends decided to get fit, so we went and bought ourselves some mountain bikes - Specialized Hardrock Sport. We couldn’t believe the price of bikes and said we would never spend thousands on a bike, BUT LOL wait for it. We go out about four evenings a week and have gone from the stage of nearly throwing up whilst going up hills; wanting to die; to really enjoying ourselves. The places that we cycle are forests in the mountains with Tarmac roads, gravel roads, single track forest paths and mountain paths
    The problem that we are having is on the descent. We used to come down at a snails pace but as we have got more confident and so faster, the bikes are bouncing all over the place especially the rear and many times it feels like an uncontrolled mad dissent but what a buzz.
    None of us have a clue about bikes. I have just found this forum and 90% of what you talk about is going straight over my head so it is going to take awhile to get my head around all the jargon. The lad in our local bike shop has recommended that we get Specialized Stumpjumper FSR Comp that, he ‘says’ will handle the steep climbs and the rough descents. But in order to pay that sort of money we want to be absolutely sure that this is not sales talk. Can any of you offer us any advice?
    Thank you in advance
    Patrick

mtbr member
    May 2007