MTB / Vitus Sentier 27 VR frame size advice - confused- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2020

MTB / Vitus Sentier 27 VR frame size advice - confused

Hi MTB newbie here seeking some help - I am considering purchasing a Vitus Sentier 27 VR or VRS and I am really struggling to choose the right size.

Vitus

I am about 5'6.5 and have a inseam of approximately 29-30 inches, not sure if relevant but I weigh about 130lbs.

From checking the Vitus sizing guide it has me right on the cusp between a small and medium, I was focusing on standover, but from all the reading, reach & stack (?) also appear to be key.

Reach / stack measurements:
    Small: 413 / 613
    Medium: 432 / 617

Is there a optimal reach I should be aiming for on a trail / xc bike?
    How do you calculate standover - I cant see it listed on the Vitus website?
    Any general advice on sizing?

With me being a newbie (well after a ~20 year break) - I want decent standover and to be able to manoeuvre the bike easily.

Any thoughts / input would be really appreciated .

jcd's best friend
    According to your info, you are in the UK. I recommend reaching out to Chain Reaction Cycles (also in the UK) and ask for fit advice. They sell Vitus bikes and can help you out.
    Cannondale Synapse Neo | Salsa Timberjack

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    The optimal reach is ,not too stretched out nor cramped. A little bend in the elbows , not hunched over .Stand over rarely comes in to play while riding ,I've never hit the top tube in 30 plus years of mountain biking. Fit should start with reach , reach is the distance from the saddle to the bars , that's where you spend most of your riding time .You more or less want to be centered over the bottom bracket , that's the most neutral position. Is that 29" pants, because riding inseam is different ? As new to the latest bikes ,you would learn a lot just taking with a local shop or someone who is up to date on bikes,

mtbr member
    May 2020