Motorcycle racer to try XC bicycle racing- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2012

Motorcycle racer to try XC bicycle racing

Subject lines says it all. I am 6'3" 225 35 years old in decent shape. I've been racing hare scrambles, enuros, and motocross since I was 15. I raced BMX bikes in the amateur class when I was young and did ok. I am an expert level woods racer and an amateur motocross racer. I have been logging some road miles on a bicycle and do an 11 mile loop with hills in about 40-45 mins. Don't k ow if that's good or bad.
    I just got a large 2001 GT Avalanche with low miles for free. The forks are Rock Shocks Judy XC, the rear derailer is LX quality, Sram cassette with Shimano Deore drive train. Front brakes are Avid manual disk. I dropped the bike off at the shop for a tuneup, I have good quality flat pedals going on it, a new rear rim with hub and a complete rear disc setup to replace the old style rear brake. Tires are stock and look decent.
    Sooooo.... what class do I ride? I'm thinking novice or cyldesdale but. Clydesdale says can be beginners or experts. Any thoughts on using this bike for this New England XC race? The race is a round of the NECS series and is being held in Clarenont,NH. I have a bell bicycle helmet with a tiny visor, motocross gloves, drink system, and will prob just run sneakers on the flat pedals till I get clipless and get used to riding with them. I'm not wearing spandex (not happening). What should I wear without looking like a goon and out of place. I was gonna wear padded bicycle shorts underneath basketball style shorts and an under armor shirt under a t-shirt. Will sneakers be ok? Should I wear eye protection? I will bring sunglasses to wear but not sure if I can wear tgem in the woods (I get migraines if my eyes are exposed to too much bright sunlight). How do the organizers put racing numbers on your bike and you? Any thoughts on what I should do to the bike or gear before the race.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008