Maintenance Question - Hydraulic brakes making wheel Twist- Mtbr.com

Sep 2007

New question here. Maintenance Question - Hydraulic brakes making wheel Twist

Hi all.

first post - and with a evil question!

I've been riding a Kona Hoss 2007 for 3 months now, totalling about 300 miles on it on 6 mile there and back rides to work over cross country and roads.

Unfortunately, last week I had to slam on my brakes for a dog, and to my horror I saw my front wheel go about 10 degrees from true, which worried the hell out of me!

I've been scavenging around on the forums for help, and have tried the following to fix it:

1) Check Quick release setting - OK.
    2) Check Spokes- Ok
    3) Check Cones.
    I've tried, but for the life of me i just cannot get the locknuts to move either on or off the axle using the correct tools - which to me means their as tight as they can be.

I've tried to book it in for a service, but the 3 bike shops near me can't do anything for 3 weeks - which really sucks.

So has anybody got any other ideas as to what I can try to fix it?

Thanks!

Wolfsbane2k

mtbr member
    so is your wheel still out of true??? are you sure your fork wasnt just flexing under load? hmm, i dont see how you wheel could get that out of true just from braking.

Mar 2007
    useing the brakes shouldnt put the wheel out of true. cuz all hte force of stopping is put onto the hub not the rim and spokes. and if the hub is stopping then the sheel will follow it. so somehting else probably kicked it out of true.

flying fatass