Mail-Order 29er- Mtbr.com

Thread: Mail-Order 29er

mtbr member
    May 2008

Mail-Order 29er

Hi Everyone. I'm a noob, looking to get back into biking. I had a Trek 800 years ago and looking at a front suspension bike. Most likely will be doing a combo of trail and pavement riding, mostly trail. I certainly will be taking it easy because I'm trying to get back into shape. Jumps, major technical riding etc....will be for the future. I just want to be with nature, on the trails and fill some free hours I have on the weekends.

My concern is that I'm 6' and about 265lbs on a good day. So the frame obviously needs to be a solid one and that's why I've been looking at the Trek 6500. However I just came across these mail order bikes and found a 29'er for $800 including shipping. I'm very hesitant though because I'm concerned for the quality of the frame. It's a Motobecane which I know nothing about. I've listed the components below. Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!!

Frame MOTO29X Aluminum with TrailTuned PowerStay Design, DualProfile Downtube with reinforced Gusset, replaceable rear derailleur hanger, 2x H2O bosses
    Fork RockShox TORA RS318 WITH LOCKOUT, 100mm travel*, Adjustable Rebound, SoloAir
    Crankset TruVativ FireX 22/32/44T with integrated GXP BB
    Bottom Bracket TruVativ GXP external bearing
    Pedals Mountain Platform
    Front Derailleur Shimano Deore
    Rear Derailleur Shimano XT long cage
    Shifters Shimano LX Mega-9 Rapid Fire 27 speed trigger shift
    Cassette/Freewheel Shimano HG cassette 9 speed 11-32T
    Chain Z9000 super narrow 9 speed
    Hubs Gravity by Formula Sealed Bearing Disc with Quick Release
    Spokes Double Butted Stainless steel
    Rims WTB FX28 Disc Black anodized Aluminum
    Tires WTB MotoRaptor 29x2.1
    Brakes Avid Juicy 3 Hydraulic Disc front and rear, 185mm rotor
    Brake Levers Avid Juicy 3 for Disc Brake
    Headset CaneCreek Sealed Bearing threadless 1 1/8 inch