New Bike Enthusiast
    Dec 2008

Lots of Beginner Questions!

A little background on me before we start.
    I'm a beginner to bikes themselves, not biking. I feel that my skills have progressed enough to where I can handle near any trail thrown at me.
    That being said, I feel mostly unsafe doing so with my current bike. It is a DiamondBack Coil 24". Me being 6'4", 150 lbs, it's obviously not big enough.
    A couple of questions: I have a Manitou Six Deluxe fork I've recently acquired. If all the measurements lined up, would putting the manitou fork in, and putting a 26" wheel in front, make any noticeable differences? This is related to the 69'er bikes, but may possibly be different.
    Another question: I may be able to acquire a Iron Horse Warrior full suspension. Would this bike be able to handle up to 15 foot drops, and survive the rigors of downhill or XC riding?
    Also, if you wish, throw out some recommendations on bikes for me!

mtbr member
    well the first point i have to make is that no bike will be able to do 15 foot drops while still being a good xc bike...you either choose one or the other, less travel and pedalability or more travel and pedals like poo but is good at drops

i checked out that fork and it looks to be a 2002ish model (atleast thats when the reviews i found on it were from) and it wont accept a 29er wheel

which model of iron horse are you looking at? they make quite a few great bikes, but also some that are a half step up from that wally world special you are riding now...

before suggesting what kind of bikes are good for you? what do you want to ride? trail riding, downhill/freeride, or dirtjumps and park???

also what is your price range?

New Bike Enthusiast
    Dec 2008
    I would be putting a 26" wheel in front, and keep the 24" in back.
    The iron horse bike is a Warrior 4.5