Looking for a solid first MTB bike- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2019

Looking for a solid first MTB bike

I've been riding road bikes as a triathlete for the last few years, and finally decided to get into mountain biking. I'm looking for a solid first bike that'll last me a few years and is a budget choice as I am a student. I've pretty much been considering the Orbea MX 10 (its 650 on Jenson USA rn) and the Atroz 2 (even though it's a little sketchy given the price), but the Siskiu D7 has caught my eye as well, although it's pushing the budget. I've since realized that there are so many great choices with various pros and cons and since I don't have the knowledge or ability to compare them, I was wondering if any of you guys know of any great beginner bikes or have other suggestions from your experience.

Thanks!

jcd's best friend
    Welcome! Personally, I wouldn't recommend the Atroz 2. It's not necessarily a bad bike. The problem is that the bike has Shimano recreational tier parts on a full suspension bike. Most (if not all) full suspension bikes typically have trail tier parts. If you like Diamondback bikes, check out the Sync'r and the Mason 2. The Sync'r is a great all round performing hardtail with Shimano SLX parts and a 1x11 drivetrain. You also get a 140mm air fork too. It's an awesome bike! Best of all, it's on sale too!

Here's a link: https://www.diamondback.com/mountain...tail/syncr-d42
    Cannondale Synapse Neo | Salsa Timberjack

mtbr member
    Nov 2018
    I'd look for some used alloy FS bike from XC or all mountain category. Hardtail would work too in the beginning, but if you will be into technical stuff - you'll have to move to FS eventually.
    Ideally you'd need someone who has experience with MTB to filter out crappy offers and give you an advice on components etc. You definitely can do it yourself, but it will take some time to get into that.

mtbr member
    Dec 2016