Larger rotor in the front (?)- Mtbr.com
    Dirt Abuser

Larger rotor in the front (?)

I see a lot of bikes with a larger disk brake rotor on the front tire and a smaller one in the rear. I know that it's done for the best stopping power, but on a bike, you (I) would think that a larger one on the rear would be better. (?)

I know on race cars, most of the stopping power is done with the front brakes. The front rotors are much larger than the rears. This is on a race car though, it has 4 wheels.

On a bike, if there is too much braking with the front tire, you know what can happen....OTB's.

I only ride XC and do not go that fast, but I was thinking of upgrading to a bit larger rotor for a bit better stopping power. Thoughts?

mtbr member
    more stopping power with front brakes, it's true of all vehicles. I've been mtbing for 18 years, and can honestly say I've never had a brake-induced endo that wasn't deliberate - if that's happening to you it's not the brake, it's poor technique. Too much power in the rear can cause the rear wheel to skid.

getting a bigger rotor will increase stopping power, the front moreso than the back.

Are you gonna eat that?
    Motorcycles are the same way, two large rotors up front, one small one in the rear, the reason being that the rear wheel will lock up with almost no braking force applied due to weight transfer.

Weight "transfers" to the front wheel as you increase your braking, giving you more traction to brake even harder, at the same time, the rear wheel loses traction because of the torque about the front axle, in the most extreme scenario, an endo/stoppie, therear wheel is in the air so it doesn't matter how big a rotor you have on it, it's not going to be doing anything.

As joules said, going over the bars by braking too hard is simply poor technique.