intro with lots of question- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2009

intro with lots of question

good day to all im new in biking just got a trek 4300 with 22.5 frame using it for a month on-road and offroad now i clock in the odo meter around 700kilometer already. Im a bit over weight im 130Kg/286lbs 6'4". But every week i need to bring to the dealer for tuning i always mess up the derelium and i hate the sound it makes every shift can any one suggest what type of gear set i can use to improve my ride.

By the way im a filipino staying in bangkok, thailand.

mtbr member
    Welcome to the site. Its a derailleur, not a derelium but I know what you meant. What do you mean by you always mess it up? There is not a lot of improvement available for that bike unless you want to replace more than 1 part. Let me explain if you went to a better cassette which would be more than likely jumping into a 9 speed you would also need a new derailleur and shifter for 9 speed, and by then you would have spent possibly over 100 dollars on just some basic items, especially if you get them installed at a bike shop. My suggestion if you cant get the derailleur to work right bring it into the shop, if they cant fix it bring it to a better shop or have them replace the derailleur it should still be under warranty and should be free.
    Big Foot Blue KHS XC704r

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    oooppps the derailleur, i mean by "im messing it up" every time i use it off-road i have to bring it to the dealer to have it tuned again and still it shift rough and some times it will take atleast 10 to 15 second before it shift leaving me shock when it shift. Just yesterday they tune in again ang they change the rotor under the cassette because i broke it already. If i change i will do it the whole gear set im thinking slx or xt, but will it improved my bike ride or will i have the same problem over and over again,

Thank's.

mtbr member