mtbr member

how to swap my roadie for a mtb

i went to some mtb trails with a friend and his mtb the other day, but i took my road bike (07 GT Legato 3.0) and it was really rough-going on the trails. no jumps, just a narrow path through the woods on soft dirt and rocks. i would like to start riding trails like this more often, but i need a suitable bike.

i have three options so far

1. terrible idea. nevermind.

2. sell my Legato and buy this bike:

it's a Gunnar Rockhound (really nice high-end custom frame) with a single-speed setup. this would basically be a really big bmx bike. i think i can make enough money off my Legato to buy this.

3. trade my Legato for this bike:
    nevermind, silly over-built bike.

4!) trade my bike or buy another bike that comes along. i have been searching Craigslist but not much else has come up.

i have been riding bmx street/skateparks for over 15 years, so i know a lot about bicycles in general, but mtb's is a new realm for me.
    Last edited by mack_turtle; 01-06-2009 at 04:04 PM.

pronounced may-duh
    Don't try to make a road bike into a mtn bike.
    Don't try to make a dirt jump bike into a mtn bike.

Sell the road bike and buy a real mtn bike. The gunner sounds like a great bike. I prefer gears.

Here is what your road bike goes for new http://www.performancebike.com/shop/...slisearch=true Not sure if that will cover the cost of the gunner.

used can be a very good value.

mtbr member
    yeah, i thought that might sounds like a terrible idea. it was worth exploring the possibility though.

the jump bike is out. it's over-built for my purposes. even if he builds it on that Gary Fisher Wahoo frame, it might be just silly. i will have to wait.