How to get the most of my Trek Ex 5- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2010

How to get the most of my Trek Ex 5

Hey everyone Im new to this Mountain biking thing only been riding a couple weeks and wow I love it! Cant even stop thinking about it anymore. Anyways I bought a Gary Fisher wahoo disc and took it back after I decided I wanted a full suspension bike. I went with the 2010 Trek Fuel ex 5 and I absolutely love it! I guess my question is should I upgrade it to make it lighter or just buy a new bike next year? I dont wanna have to keep buying bikes and would love to build this one if this is at all possible? What can I do to make it all around better and lighter, the bike is heavy as hell! Some advice for a rookie would be greatly appreciated thanks guys! Also what the best place to ride around the littleton area, i like bear creek lake park but havent been anywhere else. Thanks again, Mike

mtbr member
    Apr 2010

Trek Fuel Ex 5 that is

Sorry

mtbr member
    the ex 5 is a nice bike, i would say ride the hell out of it, and replace ?upgrade aprts that wear out, if the bike is still too heavy then start saving money to get a lighter bike
    2009 Giant Yukon FX

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    ya i just keep looking up prices to upgrade it and it would be financially smarter just to get a new bike maybe next summer rather then buy parts for this one, i think ill do the fuel 8 next maybe! But I love it, i guess im worried im gonna break it but i think ill be ok haha

mtbr member
    my buddie rides a fuel ex 5.5, he really likes it, but he is also extremely careful when he rides, and ends up walking a lot of rought terrain as to not damage the shocks, lol , we give him **** all the time about. but it is an awesome bike, good thing aout the fuel ex is that its an all mountain bike so after you ride it for a while and develop your style , youll know if your next bike should be more on xc side or more on the freeride side
    2009 Giant Yukon FX

mtbr member