How do you ride ENDLESS rock gardens?- Mtbr.com
    Trail Cubist

How do you ride ENDLESS rock gardens?

Okay...i'm still a noob at this, and (I admit) I'm impatient. I'm riding some reasonably tough trails, I'm actually getting fairly good at getting over logs no higher than my axle and even bunny hopping small obstacles...but one thing is still kicking my butt: riding continuous, nonstop rock gardens!

Now I wanna be clear about what I mean (in this context) when I say "rock gardens." I'm not talking about babyheads---I actually don't mind those. And i'm not talking about REALLY big, trials-sized boulders that are 3-4 feet high.

I'm talking about trails where it's nothing for hundreds of yards but what I call "pumpkinheads," or rocks the size of a good-sized pumpkin completely filling the trail from edge to edge...and without enough room to ride between them.

These kinds of trails completely piss me off and baffle me. People say "get light" over this kind of stuff, but I frankly think that's BS. I've thought about this a lot, and it seems that...

...when the pumpkinheads are spaced far enough apart not to be able to ride smoothly over them...but are also close enough that you can't build momentum between them...what do you do?

Also...when there is not enough space between them for a clear "maneuvering path" between the rocks...what do you do?

It seems almost impossible to me to get any kind of flow going...and momentum is incredibly difficult because you are constantly getting up and over a rock.

I'm coming to the conclusion that you basically have one option, which is power over and through them. But of course the key there is "power." Remember---we're not talking about a short stretch of this stuff...but when the trail is nothing but this stuff for miles. So if you don't have the leg strength to muscle through this stuff, it seems like you're screwed!