mtbr member
    Apr 2007

Help w/ broken crank arm

I'm still a beginner got out about 15 times last year and had a crank arm (not sure if thats the name) but that fell off during a ride. I was able to get it back on to get back and then had a local bike shop finish the repair. Whatever they did wasn't good enough cause I was tightening the bolt 3-4 times while out on it and the last time I was out it fell off again. Anyways the main bolt that secures the arm is a little bent and beat up and I'm trying to figure out my best course of action for repair while not spending a fortune.

Do I just buy new arms and bolts? new crankset? I really know nothing about cranks.

The crankset that is on the bike is TruVativ 5D Aluminum Triple 22/32/42T 175mm

my bike is a 23inch Motobecane 600HT
    also I;m 210 so I need something that will hold my fat ass. thanks in advance

likes bicycles
    I had a problem similar to this.

I'm guessing your crankset design is square taper. You can tell by looking at the crankarm and seeing if it has a square that essentially slides onto the bottom bracket.

Chances are you rounded out the square if you were riding it while it was loose. You should be able to replace the arm for around 15 dollars at your lbs. Make sure you tighten it back on to torque specs, or else it will get trashed again very quickly. When you tighten it to spec it actually slides the square up the bottom bracket, which is slightly tapered (hence the name square taper). If it's tightened properly you should be able to remove the bolt and ride it without any immediate problems (while not recommended).

Hope that helps.

Rod
    mtbr member