mtbr member
    Mar 2008

Help me choose...Scott Scale 50, Kona Cinder Cone or GF Tassajara?

Well, those are the top 3 on my list anyway.

I've ridden all 3 (plus a bunch more...Specialized, Trek, Giant, Cannondale) and really like the Scott Scale 50 the best. But it's $950 and a 2007.
    The GF Tassajara is $820 and a 2008. Kona is a 2008 and 800$.

What would you choose? I'm 5'8", 190ish and just getting into mountain bike riding, so don't expect to be on a lot of huge hills or downhill stuff. Do want to be able to ride in the dirt, though.

Am out in Denver, CO currently.

Are these 3 bikes too much for a beginner? Maybe I should be looking at something like a Giant XTC2 or a 2007 Tassajara (no disk brakes, less components than 08) for 550$?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    I bought the GF Tass just a couple of weeks ago. I am a noob, or returning after a 10 yr break and I have really enjoyed my Tass. I knew that I wanted an entry level bike and when I asked on other forums everyone seemed to agree this bike was great for getting to know the sport. I got my bike for $750 because I was considering a GF pirhana but did not really like the color options so the LBS split the difference and i got about $100 off the Tass. Try bargaining with your LBS. I dont have a lot of biking experience but I will say the GF Tass works great for me.

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    Thanks Revivalll.

I had really only been trying to get the price down on the Scott, but maybe I'll see if they'll give me a little bit better deal on the Tassajara, too.
    The Scott is really my favorite, just seems so...smooth, but I do like the Tass. Then again, the Kona seems like it could take a real beating and had killer brakes.

mtbr member
    Nov 2007