Helmet issues?- Mtbr.com

Thread: Helmet issues?

mtbr member
    Aug 2010

Helmet issues?

So I'm new to mtn biking. I've got a Specialized Hardrock and I mainly stick to the pavement for now. I'd really like to get on some trails soon but there aren't many in my area. Hope to make a few trips to Moab in the future. Anyways I'm having issues with finding a helmet that fits my head. I've got a big head and none of them fit or feel comfortable. My question is are helmets a must? Does anyone ride without one? I'd really like to get one but I'm having problems Sorry for the newbie type question.

mtbr member
    Sep 2006
    It's real dumb not to wear one, but it's America, so you gotta make your own decision.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Yes, get a helmet. I'm 'new again', as in I used to ride 8-9 years ago, but my first trail out, hit a slightly steep incline, misjudged give in my fork and went tumbling on down. Beat my knee up and thrashed my back good.

Luckily I had a helmet, so my noggin was ok, I blacked out so I either hit really hard and forced the blood out of my head, or hit my head. New bike, new helmet. Now I have a 2nd helmet ( as I don't know If I damaged the first).

You don't need to get a $150 fancy helmet. Just make sure it fits and is comfortable enough that you will wear it. ( I have a big head too, it can be a pain I know).

It is about the only thing I won't buy online as I like to try it on etc.

In short, GET A HELMET. I promise if you stick with riding at ALL it will be used at some point, either from your mistake, or someone else stupidity.

I4NI
    Fox Flux sells Xtra Lg.
    There....Are... Four...Lights!

Class Clown
    you got that adamantium skull right?

mtbr member
    May 2010