Greetings from Louisiana- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2010

Greetings from Louisiana

First off hello and thanks for allowing me to join.
    Total noob, babe in the woods, dont even have a bike yet.
    Little history, just had a scare with my heart but thankfully nothing was found wrong other than Im a bit over weight and sugar level a bit high.
    Doc said exercise/walk etc. Well, that got me here, Id rather ride a bike and Id rather be in the woods or some type of trail riding,street isnt for me.
    So like the other noobs, I begin my researching. Lbs sells Trek and Releigh but I havent even been there yet.
    I want a ht. But, I want something thats gonna be upgradable and durable.
    I want good disc brakes and hardware. My pocketbook is about 6 to 700 bucks
    I already know, I will work on it myself and learn, just the way I am. I work on my cars,truck, boat. Just a do it yourselfer... but I also know, for now, I will have a learning experience. So for now, I want a bike shop to get me going.
    I guess, I want front shocks, only experience can help out there. I want non clipon type pedals for now.
    Also, just curious, besides single speed, what is the least amount of gears you can do on a bike??? Is there like a 5 speed set up???
    Really, have many questions, but for now I want a good bike that will be durable and worth upgrading in the future.
    Thanks,
    John

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    8 or 9 speeds on the rear are typical. What part of La you in? I'm your neighbor in MS, there's some decent clubs that I know of around NOLA and Baton Rouge, I've raced against some of the guys. Checkout msmtb.org's forum if you're near MS.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    There are quite a few hardtail bikes in the 600-700 range that meet your requirements. Here's a list to get you started (some are slightly over $700 MSRP):

Fezzari Kings Peak
    Felt Q620
    Scott Aspect 55
    Raleigh Talus 8.0
    Scott Aspect 45
    GF Wahoo Disc
    Trek 4500