mtbr member

Is the Giant Yukon FX a good first bike?

Hey guys,

I'm new to mountain biking and I recently purchased a Yukon FX for around 650 dollars. I bought the FX over the hardtail Yukon because it was around the same price, and it's full suspension. I'm pretty sure the hardtail Yukon has better components, but I figure I could also upgrade my parts if I need to. Was this a good choice?

mtbr member
    To late! You have the bike, enjoy it. I would suggest not spending to much on it, I spent way to much upgrading my hard tail. In the end its less expensive to buy a complete bike. I would suggest you get good at wrenching this bike and replacing parts that fail.

Anthony

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    That's a great price, my friend has that bike, really nice rear suspension and just over all bike for the money. I'm sure it will do great for you, in my opinion best bang for the buck FS out there and plus the frame has a lifetime warranty. Have fun

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    That's a pretty dang good price. I really think the Yukon FX is one of the best entry-level FS bikes out there. Giant frames are really solid. I think that platform would be exceptionally good for upgrading in the future, given that it has a pretty traditional low, two-point pivot design.

Just upgrade the parts as they break. Don't go tossing a bunch of brand new components on it if you really don't need it.

My only real beef with the bike is the Dart 2 fork. I think that'd probably be one of the first things to go if it were up to me.

Great choice of a bike. You won't regret it.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    Great frame and great price. It might seem heavy when you pick it up (~ 33 pounds), however the bike hides it weight well on the trail. If you do upgrade in the near future ditch the fork and get a new crankset. The BB on the stock crankset weighs a ton.

mtbr member
    I purchased an SX (same model, different fork) a few months ago and am very happy with it.