which fork- Mtbr.com

Thread: which fork

mtbr member
    Feb 2010

which fork

i am beginner i mostly ride in city and on roads some times i go cross country. My fork is crap so i have to decide between the RST gila with hydraulic lock out and Suntour XCT V2 with mechanical lock out. I know that this are entry level forks but only this two are in my budget. Some people said to me that the suntour is stiffer and it uses more of the 100mm and the RST is for harder people and uses less of her 100mm. Any advice?
    or maybe Dart 1?
    Last edited by nikola_bb; 02-23-2010 at 12:45 PM.

spec4life???..smh...
    dont even consider the "Rock Solid Trash" gila....

i had the suntour on my first bike and i thought it worked relatively well for what it was just heavy...

the only one i have no experience is the Dart 1 but it is made by rox shox which has a much better reputation than the other two..

Lurker
    i have the suntour xct v2. Its on sale on craigslist right now for 30$. If your doing just LIGHT cross country it might be ok, Dart 1 might be your best bet, less maintenance from what 1 hear.

Edit: more than likely youre gonna hear " just save your money and wait until you can get a better fork"
    Where the Sidewalk Ends
    "Its not a hobby its a way of life."

mtbr member
    Dart 1 is not a huge jump in performance. Save some more money and get a Tora.

Not going to find a better deal than this http://wheelworld.com/product/rocksh...r-oem-6895.htm

Just make sure your current steerer tube is at least 230mm, and it is only for Disc Brakes.

Tora 289 Coil http://wheelworld.com/product/rocksh...l-oem-6829.htm. Again double check steerer tube length before buying. This one supports V-Brakes and Disc.
    Big Foot Blue KHS XC704r

mtbr member
    Feb 2010