Flat Pedals- Shoe recommendation- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2011

Flat Pedals- Shoe recommendation

Partial Noob here again. Switching from clipless to flats and am wondering about a good shoe. I guess something like a 510 would be fine. My concerns are

1 )Something that is good for hike-a-biking up long hills, possibly in wet mud slick conditions, but more so probably dry dirt.

2 )The lightest weight possible ! This is huge factor as I am planning another long xc endurance ride.

3) probably a stiff sole, stiff midsole. Not sure. a mid top type thing maybe.

Basically need a lightweight hiking shoe, that doubles as a good mtn bike shoe. any suggestions.

mtbr member
    i have a pair of Teva Pinners comming in the mail tomorrow. cant wait to try them out!

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    I have no experience with 5-10, but they appear to be a good choice at a good price point. I wish there was a retailer in my area. FiveTen Web Store

KVW
    Law abiding citizen
    510s cost too much for basically a skate shoe with an abnormally soft bottom (wooptie doo).

Probably not a popular choice here on mtbr but If you run a platforms with toe clips, you can basically run any one of your favorite hiking shoes and it doesn't really matter. I run MG1s with Forte toe-clips loose enough to allow me to still quickly dab my foot on the ground when necessary but ensures I don't get any dreaded slip & shin gouges. Having your favorite boots means you're also well equipped when you're forced to dismount and have to hike for a while (i tend to ride where I'm not suppose to ).
    "Single track is for pansies!
    I blast down a mountain once, and in my wake, lies a new single track for the rest of you."-sm

Fat-tired Roadie

At risk of being "that guy"

Are you sure you want to switch? Or, are you sure you want to switch and stay switched for long rides and your event?