First "Real" Bike for 12yo- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2011

First "Real" Bike for 12yo

I'm a novice at best trying to avoid the big box stores but still be fiscally responsible. Son turns 12 next week. He has never been much of a bike rider but has expressed interest in riding to school the last couple of of months and really enjoys it, even if on a single-speed hand-me-down.

Looking at getting him a MB to ride to/from middle school, in teh neighborhood, and on some easy local trails. Budget is real tight with a loss of job but as I said above, I think I can do better than a big box bike.

Son is 5' 115 lbs and athletic. Local bike shop's cheapest is at $420 and that's just not doable. Sounds like I will look at a 26" wheel with a small (14-15") frame. Looking at a local sporting goods store I saw a Diamondback Sorrento and a K2 Zed Sport. Would these be good choices? Any others in a budget/value category? Also, as an ex-Chicago boy, does Schwinn have any good moderate price offerings? Yes, i know Schwinn is Schwinn in name only these days.

Thanks for any and all help.

It's all about the FSR!
    Any thoughts on something used from Craigslist? You can often find some decent deals if you have the patience. You might get a little more bang for your buck as well.

mtbr member
    Try looking at PinkBike.com? They usually have a decent buy/sell section. Also, have you looked in the classified section yet on this website?

T.W.O
    I don't think DB makes the Sorrento in a 14-15". Their small starts at 16". You could get him on a Women's XS-S, only problem is your looking at the Lustre 2 which is $300, for a non-women's looking bike. If your going to go big box stores, DB is where it is at, anything less and you may just want to go to the bike shop/craigslist.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Thanks for the advice so far. I've re-started the looking and hope to buy something this week...still not sure of what, though. Haven't really looked used.