First mountain bike ever! Need help choosing- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2020

First mountain bike ever! Need help choosing

Hi guys,
    I'm new to mountain biking, tried it a few times and love it. I've been looking into some hardtails and full suspension bikes. I've read the pros and cons of both and am torn on what to get.
    Bike purpose: I'm a female (not sure if certain brands are better suited for females), live in the bay area, I plan to use this bike on trails in santa cruz and marin county area. I'm not into doing hardcore jumps but would love a smooth and reliable bike that can handle any trails. Price isn't an issue though I would want something under 3k since I'm new to this but willing to splurge if its the right bike.
    I do get discounts on Santa cruz bikes, so that's a plus. I've looked into the SC chameleon, 5010 and bronson.. there's just so many options !
    Thanks!

mtbr member
    Apr 2019
    Check out the Juliana itís specifically for female riders

C8N
    mtbr member
    Oct 2017
    OP said smooth... Which means FS... But which also means more maintenance.
    Can't go wrong with Santa Cruz. If not doing anything hardcore... Demo a Blur and start there. Bikes are not cheap... So demo demo demo... And get a feel for each bike and pick which you like and are best for the terrain you ride the most. Your LBS should be your resource of info.

Super Moderator SuperModerator
    You don't need a bike that's built for females. You just need a bike that will fit you well. Get a FS if you can afford it. Look at Giant Stance 1 or Trance.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by indigo48 View Post
    I do get discounts on Santa cruz bikes, so that's a plus.
    I would go with a Santa Cruz or Juliana (their womens brand). You could analyze this until the cows come home. SC and Juliana do not make anything that is junk and they have an excellent warranty and customer support.