A Few Questions- Mtbr.com

Thread: A Few Questions

mtbr member
    Jun 2007

A Few Questions

How expensive is it to maintain a bike, with repairs and such? Also, a LBS has a bike I'm interested in, but it's still in the box. Does this mean that they will assemble it, or do I have to? And, what is the best book about mountain biking repairs and such for a complete beginner?

mtbr member
    Standard Maintainence Costs:
    $50 a year if you really abuse it. Cheaper if you do your own work. This does not include parts upgrades.

Bike in box:
    Most bike shops will assemble each bike completely and professionally. Dicks, Wal-Mart, or Sports Authority are NOT bike shops. I think your LBS would actually insist on assembling it, since they stand behind the bikes they sell, and they can't warranty your work.

Best Book:
    Zinn and the Art of Mountain Bike Maintainence by Lennard Zinn. Zinn gives you all the details you need to know, and it's easy to read and follow the steps. It covers basic stuff, like changing tires and lubing chains, and more complex stuff, like drivetrain tuning and suspension fork overhauls.

Since you're a beginner, I'm assuming you've never worked on bikes before, so I would have your LBS set up your bike for you. They can help adjust the bike for proper fit, and tune it professionally.

-MrMook

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    Thanks MrMook.

Anyone else have any advice?

I am considering a Specialized Hardrock Sport. Is this a good entry level bike? My LBS sells the bike, but they only have 2 of the 4 colors it comes in. Would a bike shop order the bike in a particular color for you at no extra cost?

I am about 5'6" and 120 pounds. A 16" bike seems to be a good fit. Any idea how much I would have to grow to outgrow the bike? And, how can I tell if a bike fits, such as, how my arms should extend on the handlebars, etc?

Former Bike Wrench