Fat tires on Specialized Sirrus?- Mtbr.com

Jun 2009

Fat tires on Specialized Sirrus?

Newbie here, but lots of experience on asphalt with my road bikes.

I need a bike to ride well maintained, flat trails. I have a Specialized Sirrus that I don't ride too often. Does anyone know what is the largest wheel/tire I can put on the Sirrus?

Except for the skinny tires, my Sirrus would be perfect for the rails-to-trails riding I'll do.

I'd appreciate any help, thanks!

Jun 2009
    I appreciate all the fantastic help I've received on this wonderful forum. Oh, wait, I didn't get any.

i also unicycle
    Jan 2007
    give it some time. there's not much clearance out back on a sirrus. i'd be surprised if you could get larger than a 700x35 out there. sell the sirrus, buy an entry level hardtail if you want to actually ride offroad.
    mtbr says you should know: i work in a bike shop.
    bikes & beers (on my blog) http://idontrideenough.blogspot.com/

mtbr member
    Sometimes it takes a little while for someone who knows anything to see your post and be able to answer. You asked a hard question. :P I saw your post on the Specialized forum, and actually also have a Sirrus, but I don't have a clue what the largest tire you can put on it is. That's why I didn't answer. What I can suggest is that you take it to your shop and ask them, also see if they'd be willing to let you "try on" some bigger tires to see just how big you can go. Good luck.
    2008 Specialized Safire Comp

mtbr member
    Nov 2004

Agreed

Quote Originally Posted by Swthrtsuzy