Decisions, choices, advice?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2009

Decisions, choices, advice?

Well I figure rather than hijack someones thread, I'd start my own. I've been doing a lot of thread hopping and I've convinced myself I am looking into getting a hardtail over a FS. I'm totally new to the mountain biking sport though so your help is appreciated.

I was looking at a Mongoose Meteore and GT Avalanche 1.0. I thought the Avalanche felt a little better than the Meteore, don't know why exactly. From what I got from the guys at the LBS, all the parts are essentially the same at that level, except the forks. I think the Mongoose had Rock Shox and I forget what the GT had. But to break it down, they both had hydr. disc brakes, front shocks of course, 3/6 gearing, similar derailleurs/cranks, good set of wheels and tires. I don't know why I listed all that crap but oh well.

I'd probably end up getting a XXL since I'm tall/skinny, 6'4 180 lbs. The GT was around $800 or so, which I think is good for that level of bike. And it doesn't make sense to spend that little of money on a FS bike. I agree with a lot of people on this forum about you get what you pay for.

mtbr member
    The Mongoose has a much better front shock (Rockshox Tora 302 Air), over the SR Fork. Other than that they are pretty much identical parts wise. Get the one you like to ride the most, not the one you believe has the best specs.
    Big Foot Blue KHS XC704r

24v
    mtbr member
    For a few hundred more, this bike may be a better choice. If you have a performance near you, you could see if they have one in stock that you could ride. It seems like a 29er may be a good fit for a bigger guy like yourself. I have the 26" version of this bike, and I love it.
    https://www.performancebike.com/bike...00_20000_53000

mtbr member
    Oct 2008