Climbing hills- Mtbr.com

Thread: Climbing hills

mtbr member
    Oct 2011

Climbing hills

Hi guys, I'm new to the sport of mountain biking and purchased a Trek Marlin back in September. I'm having a problem climbing hills, I make it up about half way and the rear tire starts spinning and momentum runs out and i have to walk my bike up the rest of the hill. I run about 40 lbs of pressure in my tires. What can I do to get all the way up the hills? Thanks

mtbr member
    Run a little less pressure and drop into granny sit in the front of your saddle and turn those cranks. That's what I do. It's not fast but I make it up the hill.

mtbr member
    40psi is really high. Drop the pressure to low 30s max. Use a slightly bigger gear if you're spinning the tire still. Leg strength is your friend
    http://facebook.com/CharlemontTrails
    NEMBA Past President...

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    I still run tubes, can I drop the tire pressure that low?

mtbr member

Wink

Yup thats right . Danny and I just gave conflicting gearing advice. We are both right, depends on how your body works.
    http://facebook.com/CharlemontTrails
    NEMBA Past President...

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    If your sitting on the saddle granny gear works great but once you get out of the saddle choose a bigger gear the more you stay in your middle ring throughout your ride the more traction youll have if you are forced into your granny you have to weight the rear tire by sitting on the saddle, plus everyones right about tire pressure dont be afraid to run 32-35psi in those tubes experiment with some different tires as well. Kenda nevagals are great all arounders

mtbr member
    Climbing hills

Also, if you are enjoying mountain biking, think of either buying or borrowing Mastering Mountain Skills by Brian Lopes

mtbr member
    Oct 2011