clicking/ticking noise- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2016

clicking/ticking noise

hi there,

i have been getting this clicking/ticking noise when riding my bike for the past week.

i have isolated when this occurs....i sat on my bike with the brakes on, while i stabilized mysef next to a wall... i had my pedals at 3 and 9 oclock. when i added pressure onto the pedal/trying to push the pedals down with my foot, that clicking noise came about. i swapped my pedals and still got the noise, so i dont think its an issue of the pedals.

i am kind of new to this stuff and never touched a bike tool (except for the air pump), so with the help of my friend i have already done the following:

1. i removed my cranks and cleaned and regreased the threads on the cranks and the bottom bracket spacer or cone (the plastic circular barrel).

2. i removed my seat and replaced pedals.

3. i ensured my chainring bolts all felt snug and tight (however i used cheap dollar store tools for this, not sure if i need something stronger for the job)

i am thinking maybe my bottom bracket (which is sealed) needs replacing or i should double check the tightness of the chain ring bolts with an actual bike took? my friend whos hobby is fixing bikes rode my bike and said the bottom bracket felt good - but he could be wrong. this is also a 1 month old bike, so i am wondering if it even is the BB?. then again, i am a newb so i am just broadly speculating.

any help is appreciated, thanks

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Unless you have ridden hundred of miles the bottom bracket should be good. Have you check the seat post /clamp ?You might need to grease them.

> /dev/null 2&>1
    What kind of bike is it?

When tightening things like the bottom bracket, are you using a torque wrench?

mtbr member
    Jul 2016