Choosing a bike should be fun- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2016

Choosing a bike should be fun

..but I'm losing my goddam mind.

The choice, the choice! Modern problems.

I'm a total newbie. Uninitiated in the differences between suspension forks.. and going cross-eyed.

OK experts of the forum, can you throw your opinions at these budget-ish options.

My main question: at this level, is there *really* much difference in the specs here? Is chucking an extra 100 or 200 at it worth the bother?

Or just buy cheap to a level and ride the arise off it.

If anyone can be bothered helping, it's much appreciated. Understand if there are too many of these posts. This is a cry for help.

Scott Aspect 950 2016:

https://www.evanscycles.com/en-es/sc...-bike-EV253415

Giant Talon 4 2016:

Giant Talon 4 - MTB rÃ*gidas - 27.5 amarillo/gris | Bikester.es

Specialized Rockhopper Sport 2017:

Specialized Rockhopper Sport 29 Mountain Bike 2017 | Sigma Sport

Specialized Rockhopper Comp 2016:

https://www.evanscycles.com/en-es/sp...-bike-EV244881

jcd's best friend
    Don't stress it too hard. Looking at the bikes you posted, it seems you are shopping on a budget. I would sit on some of those bikes and see how they feel. Take them on a test ride and get a feel for them. I would not stress the itty bitty details of each bike. I would worry about the details on your next bike after this one! The goal is to find your starter bike that feels right based around what you plan to ride. Have you thought about what type of trails you are going to ride on? Fire roads, single track, street/dirt combination, etc.

Most lower priced hardtails tend to be somewhat similar in design and price.
    Trek Émonda | Transition Scout | Transition PBJ | Framed Attack Pro

mtbr member
    Jan 2012