mtbr member
    Mar 2008

Caannondale F3 pedals

The pedals that come with the bike are Wellgo pedals (lu-c25). I want a cage to put my foot in (not into the shoes and clips) and have no idea what to get. Would a cage fit on these pedals or do I need new ones? Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

AKA Dr.Nob
    You'll need to replace the pedals.
    Not that all teenagers are evil mind, just most of them.

Former Bike Wrench
    If you don't want clipless or platform pedals...I recommend PowerGrips, they work much better than clips and straps. I've been using clipless myself since 1995 but before that, this is what I ran and they worked way better than the toe clips

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    So I've been thinking, say if I was interested in getting clipless pedals. Which ones, which shoes are good? I was looking at the Shimano XTR PDm970. Like what was said about them and think they would look good on the bike. Now what about shoes? I'm new to these types of pedals so I was looking at Adidas (my usual sneakers). They make a few that are "compatible with SPD type pedal systems" which the XTR's are. Are all shoes SPD compatible? Take the Adidas El Moro '08-on Bike Nash Bar they have them in my size (13) but it doesn't say they are compatible with SPD type pedals...
    Thanks for all the info.

Former Bike Wrench
    The XTR pedals are an excellent choice, I ran their predecessor (the 959) for many trouble free years. The PDm540 and 520 are a similar design (and function) but less money if that is a concern.

As far as shoes, I've never used Adidas myself but the El Moro is indeed SPD compatible. I've had the best luck with Shimano and Diadora shoes over the years. Pretty much all mountain shoes designed for clipless are SPD (two bolt) compatible these days.

mtbr member
    Mar 2008