Brakes Squeaking :(- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Brakes Squeaking :(

FIrst I just want to say hello to everyone! First day on the forums and I have already seen alot of great information. I am just getting into mtbking and just bought a new Giant Talon 2 (the beginner model from what i understand). It has the mechanical disc brakes. The bike is about 2 weeks old and i have only put about 100 miles on the bike (most have actually just been road miles). But the brakes have a horrible squeak when pressure is applied... I tried soap and water, then i also tried some 1200 grit emory cloth to remove any glaze on the disc, but nothing is working. Any suggestion, i plan on taking back to my LBS on monday but i had a trail ride planned for tommorrow and was hoping to maybe get it fixed so i could go on with the ride. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance!

mtbr member
    Are you sure it is not just from the pads wearing in? I know with my BB5's, they made an aweful racket for a while and then quited down.

Huckin' trails
    As from the bike spec on Giant site... you have hydro's on here...

100 miles should had already break in the pads, but I think you should try to remove the pads and clean them with alcohol, then do the same with disc...

Run them and make sure the pads are in full contact with the disc breaking area and that they don't go a little under it or over it... try to adjust them to make sure the rotor do not bend when full breaking power is apply to it... there should me about 1/3 of the spacing between the inner pad (closer to the wheel) and the rotor and 2/3 between outer pad (outside the frame) and the rotor...

Otherwise, bring it to the LBS if you have enough time left. (still under warranty/maintenance service for free ?)

Good luck,

David
    Quote Originally Posted by NicoleB28 View Post
    topless. that's what all mtb girls do. we go ride, get topless, have pillow fights in the woods, scissor, then ride home!