mtbr member
    Jun 2009

Bike upgrades and what ride improvements they make

I’m a rookie, but really liking being on my bike more and more. had not ridden a MTB in close to 12 years when I bought my current one (2018 Trek fuel 9.7). Bike isn’t doing anything necessarily wrong, but some things could be better.

My question is what upgrades to do, and what the performance gains will be. My current idea is to upgrade wheels and drivetrain, but what else should I be looking for/at?

What would you upgrade first and why?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Jul 2018
    Saddle can be one as its the one that contacts your body most of the time. Also consider your handlebar length get sized exactly to your body.

●●●●●●●●◌◌
    This thread can go all over the place, but here are 4 groups of upgrades:

Fit:
    Saddle that fits better, shorter/long stem, bar width - anything that may help you stay on the trails longer, and feel more comfortable. These can be fiddly, and I've never stopped trying to optimize things here. Very noticeable if you get it right (or wrong), especially on longer rides.

Rubber:
    Maybe not as much an upgrade, but choosing the right tread for the job. You may find your OEM tires don't work for your typical trail conditions, or maybe they're overkill and sluggish for your lighter trails. You'll notice the right change in tire quickly. Moving to tubeless will allow you to run lower pressures, can can eliminate certain flats (or at least delay them).

Drivetrain:
    Switching to a cassette with more range may really help you out. Moving to a 1X setup may be simpler, drops a shifter, but probably not a game changer (if anything you are losing range). A rear derailleur with a clutch may help keep the chain on.

Weight: