Thread: bike and stuff

I Rode a Metric Century!

bike and stuff

Ok so I have some questions on a few things.

I am new to MB as the name says I am riding on a borrowed hardrock 05.

I am looking to buy a Gary Fisher Mamba in large. I am also looking at the Cateye Strata wireless computer. I would like a good set of clip pedals, any recommendations? Also shoes? helmet? UNder seat bag? cages? and bottles?

I am also going to get a hydration bag for longer rides, thoughts?

I am mostly riding on a paved trail, but do some mild off road but as time goes on I want to really step that up. Get more involved in the sport and all.

I am 6' 200lbs if you need to know to make recommendations.

Also should I upgrade anything on the bike at all?

And who is the best web vendor to you?

Sorry for all the questions.

mtbr member
    May 2007
    Ok, lots of questions, here are some answers, but not all.

Don't worry about cages and bottles if you are getting a hydration pack, unless you want some engery type drink for those long rides. You don't want to put that in the bag. I don't like camelpak because of the bag that tastes like plastic forever and you can never get it dry inside. I like platypus bags and they are guarenteed forever. The bag itself should be large enough to put your pump in and the tools. Ditch the underseat bag, it only gets all nasty and dirty.

Bell helmets are cheaper and have replacement plans. You can get them on sale all the time. I like time pedals, www.pricpoint.com has some kakis on sale right now. Shimano's are good if you like a stiffer feel when you clip in. Crankbros are good if you don't smack them on anything and the candy's are always on sale.

You will have to try shoes on. Addidas are always on sale at performancebike.com, but they don't fit me right. Sidi comes in half sizes and are the best but cost a lot. Shimano's have a nice wide front foot.