mtbr member
    Jun 2012

bike ride mishap

Today a buddy and I decided to take a ride and his bike wound up getting totalled about 11 miles in. I noticed early on that the rear wouldn't stay on a gear so we pulled over so I could take a look at it and noticed that the casette had a wobble to it as the rear tire would rotate which I guess made it difficult to dial in because I was unable to get it perfect (not to say I'm a pro but I was able to get my bike and my brothers pretty good) and that the FD wouldn't shift but that was a cable tension issue and I didn't have pliers on me. Anyway, later on during a downhill (spring mountain bike area for those familiar to the area) the chain somehow snapped and the RD broke completely off the frame and wrecked his bake tire. Once we got it home and got to talking about it, he told me that he had a LBS do a tune up on the bike after he bought it from target and thought since the LBS didn't get the drivetrain issues resolved that ultimately lead to the failure and is considering replacing the RD, rear tire, and chain so he can get it back on the trails. My concern with this though, is that the same issue could occur again and next time he won't be so lucky and could have a major fall. I told him that going for a used bike might be a better option but that I'd ask around as I'm no expert with this stuff.

Anyway, I was hoping for some input as to what the best course of action would be in this situation. Also, here's a pic of the area where the RD broke off. Apparently the (flange?) actually snapped. Oh and the components involved were a shimano altus RD, Shimano vbrake shifters (pull lever and shifter all in one, not sure if thats the name of the shifter or not though) and I didn't actually look to see what the rims were.

Thanks for any input given.

Fat-tired Roadie
    The silver thing that's broken is the Derailleur Hanger. They're replaceable, although sourcing a new one from Target or Schwinn could be difficult.