Bike Help- Mtbr.com

Thread: Bike Help

mtbr member
    Apr 2011

Bike Help

Hey guys I am relatively new to biking. I have an 05 specialized hardrock comp disc. I can't get my bike to shift from 2nd to 3rd on the left hand side...my dealer put a new chain on (mine broke) and I told him of my issue. He put a longer chain on and it seemed to shift fine. I rode it in the lot and still fine...I get home ride it in my lot....doesn't do it. What is causing this? What might need to be replaced? Any parts I replace I want to be upgraded as eventually I would like to fully upgrade the bike. Also what are some good forks reasonably priced between 200-400$ that would be more suited for All-Mountain? I greatly appreciate everyones help in advanced.

-Adam

Haro Sonix LT VL120
    May 2006
    mmm...kinda vague. Put the shifter in granny gear (smallest chainring) and pedal the bike to make sure the chain is seated in the cogs properly. Once you do that, check the exposed shifting cable that is hooked onto the front derailleur (not the shifter on the handlebar) for slack. When the derailleur and shifter are in the 1st (granny gear) the shifting cable should be somewhat taut. If the cable is loose and bendy than unscrew the allen bolt on the front derailleur and pull the cable straight with your fingers or a pair of pliers (don't squeeze too hard with the pliers) and then tighted the allen bolt while pulling the cable tight. This is just a random guess at the prob. Is there a grinding noise when you try to shift into 3rd?

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Yes there is it sounds like its scraping and if you look down while riding you can see the chain trying to make its way up onto the gear and then sliding off and rubbing.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Also just went and checked, everything is seated well and the cable is relatively tight

Picture Unrelated