Bike for Christmas- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Dec 2010

Bike for Christmas

I am a college student looking to replace his 6-8 year old mtb that was probably bought at wm for $100. The brakes don't work and the front gear is bent out of shape, which causes the chain to slip and get stuck between the gears. I took it to the lbs and the guy there basically told me it wouldn't be worth the money to repair it, so I am asking for a new bike for Christmas.

Mostly I will be riding this bike around campus, and occasionally off road/on easy trails. In other words, not real mountain biking (I know this is a mountain biking forum, I just wanted advice from someone who knows more about bikes than the local wm assembler).

I went to the lbs to see what they had to offer, and the cheapest bike was $380. I know this is very much on the low end of the mtb price range, but it is too high for my parents. I have already made the argument that it would be safer/more durable/higher performance/more economical/more fitting/all around better, but the best they will do is a $200 bike. I don't have enough spending money to buy even a $200 bike, and do not know enough about bikes to be able to buy a used one from Craigslist or eBay, so I will asking for a bike from good old wallyworld (no, seriously).

I know that anything in life worth doing/buying will cost good money, but I don't have good money right now. I will get a job over the summer, save up some money, and hopefully have enough to buy a decent bike. For now, though, I will take what I can get.

So it's basically down to a Next Amplifier for $100, a Schwinn Sidewinder for $130, or a Mongoose Deception for $200. Unless there is some cheap part that just has to be replaced, I will not be upgrading anything. They are all cheap wm bikes, but is the Deception that much better that I can justify asking twice the price of the Amplifier for it?
    Last edited by luke99; 12-14-2010 at 05:32 PM.

Always Learning