Bike chain keeps breaking.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Bike chain keeps breaking.

I have a Specialized P1AM that I bought recently, it is my first (real) mountain bike. I only have probably 10 hours total of riding time on it, and the chain has already broken 3 times. (And usually hurts my leg muscle when it does).

Why would it be breaking so much? Everything is in tune, its not rubbing on anything. I am a pretty strong guy, and weigh about 230 pounds, but still, I am new to mountain bikes and haven't put this bike through anything harsh, toughest action its seen is some wheelies and short hill climbs, its barely got a spec of dust on it.

Also, can anyone recommend a chain that is compatible with this bike that is stronger, but still not very expensive?

R.I.P. DogFriend
    Carl, the problem is likely not the chain. I would have to guess that that you have been shifting under power.

Once? Could be a fluke, but three times is a pretty good sample. I haven't been as light as 230lbs since I started riding in the mid-90's.

Most chains are rated at about 200kgf. The SRAM 991 Cross-Step is rated at 250kgf, but if you're breaking a 200kgf chain three times in a short period of time, you'll break that one too. The less expensive chains will hold you just fine if you don't mangle them.

Learn to anticipate the need to shift so you can give a little 'kick' to your pedal stroke, and then ease off just as you activate the shifter so the shift is accomplished without so much force applied.

Even little bitty boney fellers can snap chains from less than great shifting technique.

mtbr member
    Jan 2010
    My best guess would be that you are changing under load?
    Do you try and shift down when you are climbing to get in a lower gear without slacking off pedal pressure?