Bent Chainstay - Opinions- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2011

Bent Chainstay - Opinions

This is a 2002 Gary fisher mtb and I noticed that it seemed like it was bent at the chain stay. I wanted to do some light trails and install a new Dart 2 fork that I have in box.

Please advise, I appreciate the help.

These pictures are of the bike upside down.
    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/15391535/IMAG0138.jpg
    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/15391535/IMAG0139.jpg
    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/15391535/IMAG0140.jpg

mtbr member
    Feb 2011
    If you are the original owner, see if you can get a crash replacement discount from trek. If not....i wouldn't ride that. A crease is bad in aluminum.

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    I am not a expert by any means but i think frames are supposed to be that way, did the wheel hub fit in the dropouts i think if it was bent the wheel hub would not seat properly. One of the pros on here would know for sure though.

mtbr member
    Feb 2011
    They are supposed to be hourglass shaped. That last photo looks like a dent with a crease in it though.

Fat-tired Roadie
    ^^^ agree with this. I think only the crease in the last picture is not supposed to be there. Bike tubes have a lot of odd little dents and dimples by design, to make room for the crank, cassette, etc. I'd say if it's smooth and the paint's not weird, it's probably there on purpose.

If you can't get it warrantied, though, just keep an eye on that least crease. I wouldn't expect it to fail catastrophically all of a sudden, but if it starts cracking or the paint starts to flake around it, stop riding the bike.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    Yup, looks normal except for that dent in the last picture. However, I wouldn't worry about it too much due to its size and location. Just keep riding it like you usually would.

Still New
    I don't even know what a "chain stay" is lol