Beginner questions and bike recommendations- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2011

Beginner questions and bike recommendations

Hello all! I'm new to the sport and here as well. I just have a few questions.

How are mountain bikes sized? When people say 29", 24" What does that mean exactly?

Also i'm looking for a beginner bike. I'm 27yrs old, 5'5" and 160lbs. I'm looking to do a mix of road and trail riding.I'm probably not going to spend more than $500 but may push that up to in the 600.

I have found a few bikes i like on my own, and have also been recommended to check used. If anyone would like to share their knowledge with me i would be so happy!

Probably drunk right now

Answers....

Quote Originally Posted by ShawnCS View Post
    Hello all! I'm new to the sport and here as well. I just have a few questions.

How are mountain bikes sized? When people say 29", 24" What does that mean exactly?

Also i'm looking for a beginner bike. I'm 27yrs old, 5'5" and 160lbs. I'm looking to do a mix of road and trail riding.I'm probably not going to spend more than $500 but may push that up to in the 600.

I have found a few bikes i like on my own, and have also been recommended to check used. If anyone would like to share their knowledge with me i would be so happy!
    Mountain bikes typically come in two different wheel sizes: 26" wheels and 29" wheels. They're then typically sized as Small, Medium, Large, XL, etc. or by inches (13", 15" 17"... etc).

So you have two preliminary decisions to make before purchasing: What wheel size do I prefer and what size bike do I need.

Fortunately, the answer to both of these questions is the same:

- Ride as many different types of bike from as many different OEM's as you can. Select the bike that feels the best to you.