Is 40lb too heavy for a MTB to do trial trick?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2009

Is 40lb too heavy for a MTB to do trial trick?

I have just bought a second hand MTB, DaBomb Chasis, with front RockShox , whole bike is about 40lb. I am a beginner and want to learn trial trick. I found the bike too heavy even to raise the front whell only. Is 40lb too heavy to do trial? What trick can this DaBomb MTB do? What trick should I first start? Thanks for answer.

mtbr member
    Which bike is it? 40 pounds seems a bit heavy to be doing much more than just going down hill, is it a Down Hill Bike?
    Big Foot Blue KHS XC704r

mtbr member
    Jan 2005
    This is one of those "your mileage may vary" kind of questions.

I know nothing of your strengths and capabilities.

For most ppl a 40 lb bike would be a bit much for trials'n.

It would be for me.

Good luck!

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    I think if you're finding it to be too heavy to pick the front wheel up, you might have answered your own question...

mtbr member
    Could also depend on what stem/bar combo your running. If your trying to learn rear wheel hops and pedal kicks, a short DJ type stem can be very difficult to do any trials type moves. If you get a longer stem with rise, you may find that getting the front wheel up and actually bieng able to hold the wheel up may be easier.

When I was 1st learning trials about 7 or 8 years ago, I was learning on DJ rigs with too much suspension, and the basics were very very hard to learn. After riding all day my hands would hurt inbetween all my knuckles, my lower back would hurt, arms would be shot. Once I bought my 1st true trials bike, the differance was day and night.

Now after riding years and years of trials, I can do trials stuff on full blown downhill rigs, XC bikes, kids bikes, DJ's, hell anything with a decent rear brake and its on.

Check out these:

http://http://webcyclery.com/product.php?productid=17458&cat=451&page=1