27.5+ vs 29 tires- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2020

27.5+ vs 29 tires

I am a newbie to MTB. I rode my two past seasons with a Walmart bike - green and blue trails.

I am looking to get a new bike for this season, and with my budget in consideration and also 'test riding' aspect of it, I am pretty much limited to what I can get.

My budget is less than 1500 and obviously I am forced for a hard tail. With that said, good hard tail bikes at this level are either Trek Roscoe 7, Specialzied Fuse, or Salsa Rangefinder.

The challenge I am facing here is my local stores (Twincities, MN - the trails are rooty and rocky), do not have any 29ers in those models and all have 27.5+ tires.

I read a lot of posts on differences between 27.5 and 29ers Pros and Cons. Obviously 29 gives me much smoother ride because of its rollover capacity on rocks. However, I could not find anyone comparing 27.5+ with 29ers. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I am planning to stay on Green/ Blue Trails, and improve my speed, berms and slight jumping. If anyone is from MN, who tried both these tire types, the trails I am referring to are majorly Elmcreek, Lebanon, and Murphy Park.

since 4/10/2009
    No, I wouldn't characterize 29ers as offering a "smoother ride" than 27+. If anything, the extra volume/cush of the plus tires will give a smoother ride than regular 29er tires. A couple things happen with those differences.