27.5 vs 29, but with different suspension travel...(Tallboy vs 5010)- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2018

27.5 vs 29, but with different suspension travel...(Tallboy vs 5010)

I've narrowed my next purchase down to the Santa Cruz Tallboy and 5010, but I am having some trouble deciding as I'm new to the whole wheel size thing (Though I did read a couple threads on it before posting this message). Price, geometries, weight, and components are identical.

Couple questions I have:

• 1. The 5010 and tallboy seem to be very similar on paper, however, the tallboy has 29" wheels with 130mm front/120mm rear travel and the 5010 has 27.5" wheels with 140mm front/130mm rear travel. Assuming everything else being equal, which would would do a better job of smoothing out the trail and absorbing unevenness? I know the 29er wheels technically do this, but when you add 10mm of suspension to the front and rear, does that change things?

I keep hearing that the 5010 is more lively, poppy, playful, etc. by comparison to the Tallboy, i'm not sure if that is a positive for me. For an old guy who keeps his wheels firmly on the ground (no drops, jumps, wheelies, manuals, etc), doesn't race, and rides green and blue trails. Which bike is better suited to my needs? I'm 5'10 and 170lbs if that makes a difference.

Coffee Drinker
    Tallboy sounds like it fits your needs. 5010 is an awesome playbike.

mtbr member
    I'm generally a fan of 29ers, and have a Giant Trance Pro. I've ridden a friend's TB (he's my size and weight, and was trying to get it dialed in up here in Utah) which is an XO1 CC build with the reserve 27 rims. I was really underwhelmed by the new TB.