Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

2017 Trek Marlin 7 vs 2017 Marin 5 Bobcat vs 2017 Trek X caliber 8 ?

10K views 12 replies 5 participants last post by  Musaka18 
#1 ·
Hi guys noob here, who plans on getting an under $1000 bike for riding trails in Florida I am torn on which of these bikes listed would be the best beginner/ intermediate to buy. Went to a few of my local bike shops and was pitched on how bad one brand was compared to another. So left just as confused as before I went. I would greatly appreciate any help offered !! Just want to make the best choice possible as I do not want to have to sell the bike to get a better one a few months down the road :(

John

#2 ·
If you find a bike with an air fork with adjustable rebound damping you'll be making a long-term choice. Like the X-Cal 9. A manager only can give you a Black Friday deal for close to 1k + tax. Sales guys can't do anything.
A Diamondback Mason Trail with the Corp. Sponsor Program would be around your budget in 27.5+ with a Raidon 120mm air fork.

#6 ·
The Fathom 29 1 is a 200 upgrade. You get a much better lighter Axon fork and Sram NX 11 speed single drivetrain vs 9sp double. I've seen 20 off deals from managers. Only talk money with a manager. Cash- Black Friday- shop around 1/2 dozen shops if necessary.
Skip a 27.5 hardtail unless you're short. Especially in Florida.

#4 ·
Look at the bike with the best parts spec, especially the forks. Most are pretty close on most things in the price range but get the most bike you can afford to start with. Saves you money in the long run.

Otherwise you run the risk of coming back in a month ready to spend a ton more on upgrades. When your dollar goes a lot further on a full bike versus buying parts.

Don't get me wrong seeing as I don't know what you plan to ride with the bike and it may be fine. But if the goal is serious trail riding, best to squeeze out every dollar you can now instead of later.

Sent from my XT1565 using Tapatalk

#5 ·