2011 GF by Trek Wahoo vs. 2009 Giant xtc 2?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2011

New question here. 2011 GF by Trek Wahoo vs. 2009 Giant xtc 2?

Hey everybody! I'm a total n00b to mountain biking and want to start riding seriously. I'm on a bit of a budget so I'm trying to decide on a beginners mountain bike.
    I'm trying to decide on a new hardtail and i would like your opinions on these two bikes.

2011 Wahoo I can get for $700
    http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes...ardtail/wahoo/

2009 XTC 2 I can get for $600
    http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-ca/...in/2593/32905/

Please tell me which one is better in terms of components (obviously the giant has mechanical brakes while the wahoo has hydros), frame durability and such (weight isn't really an issue).
    Thanks!
    Last edited by Kamil; 04-22-2011 at 10:25 AM.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    anybody?

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    I have no experience on the Giant but I have the 2011 Wahoo and I love it. Hydro brakes are amazing, much better than mechanical brakes I had experienced. It shifts flawlessly (as long as the cables are adjusted correctly) and it is geared perfect. I don't have the knowledge to compare it to the Giant but I can say that you would love it if you rode it. This is my first non-walmart mountain bike and it is definately worth the money. I have ridden mine almost every day since I got it. The colors are awesome too

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Hey thanks for relying!
    I'm glad you enjoy it, and it is hopefully going to be my "first non-walmart" bike too.
    Thank you very much for you input

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    Between those two bikes I'd say the Wahoo is a better deal, if the xtc2 was maybe $450 then it would be more of a toss up, the Giant was $870 in 2009, so even if it's sitting on a showroom floor never ridden I would say $600 is really good of a deal).