2005 Specialized Hardrock Sport- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2005

2005 Specialized Hardrock Sport

I am new to mountain biking. Jjust bought a Hardrock Sport and I love it. Everything is great except the saddle. It is uncomfortable for long rides. Any recommendations? Thanks for your help.

There's no app for this.

it may take some

getting used to. If it's a real problem, get the shop that sold you the bike to swap it out for another. Everyone's butt is different and so it's trial and error, hence all the proliferation of saddles on the market. Good luck, Jim

mtbr member
    Sep 2004

Cycling shorts?

Are you wearing cycling shorts? If not, cycling shorts can make saddles more comfortable. Just a thought. If you are, like the other post said, go to the LBS and try a few.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Saddles require a break-in period. It takes three to four weeks before I was comfortable on new saddles.

beautiful noise...

BG saddle...

My body didn't dig the Body Geometry saddle on my Specialized either. I'd take some of the suggestion above. I ran the stock BG saddle for quite some time before switching out in order to ensure it wasn't me and that the saddle was the cause of my discomfort. I know for me that shorts made a big difference in my comfort level on longer rides as well. As far as saddles go, everybody is different so you're just going to need to try a few out and see what feels best. I settled on a WTB Rocket V Stealth saddle after trying a few.

Probably drunk right now

All good advice above

1. It takes a while to get used to riding, so your butt is going to be sore for a little while until you develop what was once decribed to me a "sit tolerance".

2. Cycling shorts will help reduce discomfort.

3. Give the saddle a month of honest riding and if your discomfort hasn't gone away, look at another brand of saddle.

Ken

mtbr member