2005 Giant Yukon- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2011

2005 Giant Yukon

I've been watching Craigslist like a hawk, and a 2005 Giant Yukon in my size just showed up. They are asking $300 for the bike, plus a 2-bike bike rack for the car. I don't really need the bike rack, would $250 be a reasonable offer for the bike alone?

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    I think 250 seems reasonable. 300 is a little bit high for a 5 year old bike that retails new in the upper 400s. You should offer 225 and see if they will accept the offer.

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    Thanks...I'm new to all this and looking for a first bike.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    If this will be your first bike it should be just fine but if you really get into riding you will be spending lots of money on bikes with better components for different purposes. The giant yukon seems pretty decent component wise except for the fork and should be able to handle regular riding.
    Just try to bike out and see if you like it and you feel comfortable on it. If you decide to purchase it bring it to your local bike shop to have it checked out and make sure everything is working properly and they could probably help you adjust the bike to fit you better.

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    Thanks. They went down to $250. Hopefully I'll be able to meet them to check it out Tuesday or Wednesday.

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    http://littlerock.craigslist.org/bik/2641284612.html here is what I'll be getting for $250, minus the bike rack.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    It is hard to tell exactly what the "bells and whistles" are, the lights and date bottle holders I assume. From the pictures it is hard to tell what is on the bike, it looks pretty much stock.

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    I'm assuming it's all stock. I think by bells and whistles they were referring to the flat fix kit, air pump, and small stuff like that.

mtbr member
    Sep 2011